On Obama

hillary_and_obama.jpg

Barack Obama is still winning. So, it looks like the US could really have their first not-quite-black president after some 220 years of history.

Well.

I must admit I don’t know a whole lot about Obama, but I like him more than the potential alternatives. Mc Cain is a republican. That alone would be enough for me but, on top of that, he comes after Bush junior. And anybody accepting even a suspicion of continuity with such a blunder, cannot really be considered. Hillary Clinton is the perfect example of a machine programmed to become US president. A very good one, as that. However, proficient machines built with a precise, narrow aim tend not to be good at anything else. Like, for instance, being a good president as opposed to becoming one.

Obama surely looks cool, and I must admit he has got style. I recall on this subject what was his answer when asked if he ever tried marijuana: “Yes. – he admitted – And yes, I inhaled. This was the point, you see.” No comparison to Bill “I-didn’t-exactly-did-it” Clinton.

However, I can’t avoid to be plagued by a quote from one of my personal gurus, the late Kurt Vonnegut:

“There is a tragic flaw in our precious Constitution, and I don’t know what can be done to fix it. This is it: only nut cases want to be president.”

Yes, Vonnegut was a well known pessimist. He was also right most of the time.

One Response to “On Obama”

Leave a Reply

